The Division of Instruction and School Management is mandated to provide education and related services to children in kindergarten to grade 12 of ages 5 to 18, focusing on providing access and improving student performance and learning outcomes at the primary and secondary levels, as well as addressing the needs of special education students.  The Division manages and provide support for the 80 primary schools and 6 secondary schools in the public school system.


Besides managing primary and secondary schools, the Division also oversees four supplemental programs:  Curriculum & Instruction, Special Education, Media and Instructional Services, and the School Enrichment Program.


School Management


Primary schools are managed by the Associate Commissioner of the Division through five Assistant Commissioners who oversee schools in these five regional divisions:  Western Region, consisting of Lib Island, Mejatto (Rongelap), Ujae, Lae, and Wotto atolls; Central Region: Jabat Island, Ailinglaplap and Namu atolls; Southern Region: Kili Island, Ebon, Namdrik, and Jaluit atolls; Eastern Region: Mili, Arno, and Northern Region consisting of Aur, Maloelap, Wotje, Likiep, Ailuk, Utrik atolls and Mejit island. Kwajalein Atoll and Majuro Atoll are considered separate school regions respectively, each holding some of the largestschools in the RMI.


Secondary and Career Education


The Office of Secondary and Career Education strives to ensure that children who have completed primary schooling and have reached the age of 14, who qualify for admission to high school, and who continue to meet the Public School System standards are enrolled in each of the six public high schools.  The six public high schools, Marshall Islands High School (MIHS), Laura High School (LHS), Jaluit High School (JHS), Northern Islands’ High School (NIHS), Kwajalein Atoll High School (KAHS) and the Life Skills Academy enroll children who completed eighth grade education from geographically-based feeder schools.


Curriculum & Instruction


The Curriculum, Instructions and Assessment (CIA) unit oversees curriculum development and assessment work and ensure these activities are updated periodically.  It works collaboratively with the other divisions and programs within the Public School System to provide teachers with quality support and resources to be effective, well-informed educators.   This is done through the provision of appropriate instructional materials and training in curriculum implementation.  The unit also provides quarterly assessment in subject areas to inform teachers and gauge student progress. 


Special Education Program


The Special Education Program continues to operate under the Individual with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) Part B.  The Act provides funds to the Freely Associated States to provide free and appropriate services to children with disabilities ages 3-21. The grant provides funding in the following areas: teacher salaries, staff development, materials and supplies and other related services.  During the FY 2012, the program implement Outcome 9 under the MOE Performance Based Budget Portfolio.


Special Projects


The Media and Instructional Services Center provides printing services for locally produced instructional materials and maintains routine and special activities throughout the Fiscal Year 2012. These activities included the provision of PA Systems, Video and Still Photographs for Graduations, Workshops, Conferences and Special Programs. The center is also responsible for the weekly radio program.


School Enrichment Program – SEP


The School Enrichment Program offers after school programs for students at seven primary schools and two secondary schools on Majuro atoll, and two private primary schools.  These programs include physical education, tutoring in various areas, including Reading, and intramural sports among participating schools. 



Go to top